Chicken Alfredo

Dark Days

This is my third attempt at making homemade pasta. I am getting closer each time. I will do a quick run through on how I made the pasta. It’s very similar to the way I did it a couple weeks ago.

I used 1 pint of spelt flour and 4 eggs. I dumped out the flour on the counter and made a well in the center of it and put 2 eggs in. I combined the eggs and the flour with a fork. Seeing that I needed more liquid I added 2 more eggs. I combined the mixture and started to form a ball. At this point I looked at what I was doing: I had a pint of flour and 4 eggs on my counter, it looked pretty messy and I was wondering if it would turn out. The ball formed and I rolled that out as best I could on a very floured surface. When it got to be about 3ft long I cut it in thirds. For each of those thirds I rolled them out to about 2-2.5 feet. I then folded them in half three times and cut them as thin as I could. I fluffed the noodles up, unfolding them, and put them in a bowl. I set the bowl aside and started on the rest of the dish.

I browned the chicken breasts in a frying pan. I seasoned them with salt, pepper, smoked paprika and rosemary. I took them out of the pan and let them rest for 10 minutes. Then I cut them in bite size pieces and put them back in the frying pan for another minute on medium heat.

To make the sauce I melted 4 tablespoons of butter in a medium sauce pan and added 3 cloves of mined garlic. I let that cook for 3 minutes and added 3/4 of a pint of heavy cream. I seasoned that with dried parsley then added 1/4 pound of cream cheese. I let that melt, just come up to a boil and I shut off the heat.

Before I plated the noodles I pan fried them for a couple minutes to ‘help’ them taste better?! The noodles just didn’t do it for me.

At this point I dished up some noodles, added some chicken, put some sauce on the top and added salt and pepper.

The chicken and the sauce were very good. The chicken was tender and the rosemary was a very nice touch. The sauce was garlic, butter, heavy cream and cream cheese; How couldn’t that be good?

The noodles: I made them myself, they tasted like whole wheat noodles, the texture was different, they were not uniform (I’m not a machine),  I coated them with sunflower oil,  I don’t know! They were noodles but the were just not that good. I think I will have to try a different flour… Maybe something more Italian?

Overall I think that this was a success. It was local (beyond the spices) and homemade. I learned a few tricks on making the pasta. I also learned I can make a good Alfredo sauce. Kristina thought it was very good. Maybe I shouldn’t be so hard on my noodles.

Notes for next time-

The meal is cooked, the post is made and in the editing process. I Google ‘homemade pasta’ and find out that The Pioneer Women has a recipe. I used this website for my braised short ribs. I looked at the recipe for her pasta and learn I didn’t knead my pasta ball long enough. I will know for next time. Dude, that’s frustrating! The joys of cooking and allowing others to see your mistakes.

3 thoughts on “Chicken Alfredo

  1. You have WAY more patience than I do. If I haven’t figured out a recipe before the first or second time, I’m not likely to make it again. I love that you keep working to perfect the process.

  2. Pingback: Dark Days Challenge WEEK 8: One Pot Meals « Not Dabbling In Normal

  3. I admire your attempt at homemade noodles. I have a manual pasta machine from Italy and the pasta attachments for my KitchenAid…I use a blend of semolina flour and flour I grind with my mill. I run the semolina through the mill, too…seems to work very well. But I have had lots of practice…and that’s what good pasta takes: PRACTICE! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

