Medicinal Herb Help Needed

Last Fall I bought some seeds from Amazon and I was planning on growing them this season. I don’t know as much about them as I want to. I got the seeds to grow plants for medicine. I do not know anyone that has grown these plants so I am hoping to reach out to any herbalists that could read this blog. I have done a bit of online research but I would like to hear some first handĀ opinions of the plants. One is more common and the other two are not.

Mad-Dog Skullcap: Scutellaria Lateriflora

Lion’s Tail: Leonitus Leonurus

Wild Dagga: Leonurus Cardiaca Sibericus

I’m sure I will grow the skullcap, I just don’t know how to use it. The other two I am not sure about. If you have any experience with any of these plants -growing or using- that could be useful to me, please e-mail me or post a message.

One thought on “Medicinal Herb Help Needed

  1. I have experience with all three plants, first of all note that I have grown all of the three except for skullcap. Skullcap has been said to be used in dealing with anxiety and is also considered to be a benzo so there are certain medications and other herbs not to be used in combination with.

    As for the lions tail it is usually transplanted into a fairly large plot of land after the age of at least two to three months, and will reach a height of at least five feet minimum unless grown in a container. It will not flower if grown in shade, but to encourage this one should give each plant ample space, and work well rotted compost into the soil before planting for proper nutrition. From personal experience coffee grounds can be key if applied once every week or two but not directly. The plant itself is used to treat migraine headaches, and lower high blood pressure.

    Now for the cardiaca, this plant has easily established itself in my front yard after years. Please note that wild dagga is another name for leonotis leonurus, while the other refers to motherwort.which is supposedly used to help aid women with menstrual problems.

Leave a Reply

